graphic masthead of boy and City School District of Alabny logo graphic link to Board of Education pages graphic link to school directory pages
box bullet

HOME

box bullet About Us
box bullet

Academics

box bullet

After-School and Extended-Day Care

box bullet

Albany A-Z

box bullet

Albany Booster Club and School PTAs

box bullet

Albany Fund for Education

box bullet

Alumni

box bullet

Annual Professional Performance Review (APPR)

box bullet Art
box bullet Assurance of Discontinuance
box bullet

Athletics

box bullet Bids/RFPs
box bullet Buildings and Grounds
box bullet

Calendar

box bullet

Dignity for All Students Act

box bullet

Early Childhood

box bullet

Employment

box bullet ENL and Refugee Services
box bullet

Feedback

box bullet Grade Configuration/Middle School Enrollment
box bullet

Grants and Program Development

box bullet

Hall of Fame

box bullet Human Resources
box bullet

Library

box bullet

Music

box bullet

News

box bullet

Parent University

box bullet

Professional Development

box bullet

Programs and Services

box bullet Pupil Personnel Services
box bullet Receivership
box bullet

Search Our Site

box bullet

Student Registration

box bullet Summer School

box bullet

Volunteering

box bullet

Website Accessibility

 

Dignity for All Students Act

 

Kerri Canzone-Ball, Ed.D.

Director of Pupil Personnel Services

75 Watervliet Ave.

Albany, NY 12206

Phone: (518) 475-6130

Email: kcanzone-ball@albany.k12.ny.us

 

The purpose of the City School District of Albany Dignity for All Students team is to ensure that all students, regardless of gender, national origin, ethnicity, religions, mental or physical abilities, gender identity, weight, height, ethnic group, religious practices, and sexual orientation, are provided an environment free from discrimination, harassment, bullying and fear, in order to come to school safely and without impediment to learning from these courses.

 

All students have a right to be in a school environment where they are treated with respect and dignity. And they are protected by a state law that prohibits discrimination and harassment by other students or adults -- either on school property or at a school event.

 

The law is called the Dignity for All Students Act. It prohibits harassment and discrimination of a student based on his or her:

  • Race (actual or perceived)

  • Color

  • Weight

  • National origin

  • Ethnic group

  • Religion or religious practice

  • Disability

  • Sexual orientation

  • Gender identification

  • Sex

The City School District of Albany takes very seriously complaints harassment and discrimination. Our Code of Conduct outlines expected behaviors and the consequences for bullying, harassment and various forms of discrimination outlined in the Dignity for All Students Act. Click on the highlighted text to learn more about the policy and how it works.

 

In short, the district will swiftly and thoroughly investigate reports of harassment and discrimination. When harassment and discrimination occur, the district will take steps to eliminate the harassment or discrimination and prevent it from happening again.

 

Who to tell if it happens

The law requires that every school have a Dignity Act coordinator who is trained to respond to reports of harassment or discrimination. If you are student who is a victim of  discrimination or harassment or the parent/guardian of a victim, or if you have witnessed discrimination and harassment, please download and complete this form and contact the appropriate people listed below.

 

School

Phone number

Coordinators

E-mail

Abrookin Career and Technical Education Center (518) 475-6400

Lisa Ostermann

lostermann@albany.k12.ny.us
Albany High School (518) 475-6200

Julie Barber

jbarber@albany.k12.ny.us
Albany International Center (518) 475-6900 Lily Htoo lhtoo@albany.k12.ny.us
Albany School of Humanities (ASH) (518) 475-6575

Amy Irwin

Melissa Keen

airwin@albany.k12.ny.us
mkeen@albany.k12.ny.us
Arbor Hill Elementary School (518) 475-6625

Janet Escoto-LaVoie

Jerome Perkins

jescoto-lavoie@albany.k12.ny.us
jperkins@albany.k12.ny.us
Delaware Community School (518) 475-6750

Steve Moguel

smoguel@albany.k12.ny.us
Eagle Point Elementary School (518) 475-6825

Gabriele Barbato

gbarbato@albany.k12.ny.us

Edmund J. O'Neal Middle School of Excellence

(518) 475-6600

Kandie Antonetti

Tia Corniel

kantonetti@albany.k12.ny.us
tcorniel@albany.k12.ny.us
Giffen Memorial Elementary School (518) 475-6650

Jason Rogers

jrogers@albany.k12.ny.us
Montessori Magnet School (518) 475-6675

Sue Hodom

shodom@albany.k12.ny.us
New Scotland Elementary School (518) 475-6775

Marilyn Jones-Oliver

mjones-oliver@albany.k12.ny.us
North Albany Academy (518) 475-6800

Susan Goetz

sgoetz@albany.k12.ny.us 
Philip J. Schuyler Achievement Academy (518) 475-6700

Emma Steckman

Tonya Venable

esteckman@albany.k12.ny.us
tvenable@albany.k12.ny.us
Pine Hills Elementary School (518) 475-6725

John Scott

jscott@albany.k12.ny.us
Sheridan Preparatory Academy (518) 475-6850

Tina Cascone

tcascone@albany.k12.ny.us
Stephen and Harriet Myers Middle School (518) 475-6425

Timitra Rose

trose@albany.k12.ny.us
Thomas O'Brien Academy
of Science and Technology (TOAST)
(518) 475-6875

Katie Stalker

kstalker@albany.k12.ny.us

Tony Clement Center for Education

(518) 475-6525

Christopher Monticello

cmonticello@albany.k12.ny.us
William S. Hackett Middle School (518) 475-6475

Stephon Frost

sfrost@albany.k12.ny.us

 

More resources

 

Link to Board of Ed page Link to Directory page Link to Our Schools page